Success for Howth Junior Sailors at the CYBC Regatta
Author: Niamh Hopkins Posted on: 23/7/09 Print Version

On Wednesday the 22nd of July the annual Clontarf Yacht and Boat Club Junior Regatta was held in extremely mixed weather conditions. Nine Oppie sailors together with instructor Simon Rattigan traveled from Howth to compete. Success was to be theirs ! with Howth sailors taking the top four positions in the Optimist Fleet.

The day started well with sunshine and a light south westerly breeze but unfortunately the wind dropped and racing was delayed leaving the 26 strong Optimist fleet bobbing about.
Race one eventually got underway but the course had to be shortened due to the light airs and the strong tide making it too difficult for the sailors to get around the course. Howth Sailor Aoife Hopkins achieved a first in this race followed by Fergus Flood (2nd), Richard Hogan (3rd) and Nicholas Delamer (4th).

Race two was delayed but this time for the opposite reason that the wind had been building strongly and was now approaching 22 kts making for challenging conditions. Once the race got underway again Howth Sailors proved themselves extremely capable but the first position went to Sutton Dinghy Club's Callum Maher followed by HYC Sailors Richard Hogan (2nd) Nicholas Delamer (3rd) Aoife Hopkins (4th).

Aoife Hopkins

Due to a difference between HYC's results system and Clontarfs the sailors were left in suspense until the end as to who had won the regatta.

The prize eventually went to Aoife Hopkins (who also achieved a 3rd position in the silver fleet in the Connaughts earlier in the week).

In second place was Richard Hogan, 3rd went to Fergus Flood and Fourth to Nicholas Delamer as Howth scooped all the prizes in the Optimist Fleet.

Richard Hogan

Howth Sailors (anticlockwise) Fergus Flood,Conor Howard, Erica Markey,
Isabelle Cahill, Robbie Dix, Aoife Hopkins with Coach Simon Rattigan
The Howth Sailors who competed were Fergus Flood, Aoife Hopkins, Nicholas Delamer, Richard Hogan, Ben Jennings, Conor Howard, Isabelle Cahill, Erica Markey and Robbie Dix and were ably assisted by Coach Simon Rattigan.

Full results can be viewed on

  Associated Articles
HYC Sailors take part in the Dutch Optimist Association squad selection trials
2004 East Coast Optimist Polar Series
Highlights of 2004 Dinghy Racing at HYC
2004 East Coast Optimist Polar Series
Optimist Trials 2005 - Lough Ree - April 1st to 3rd
Optimist Easter Regatta at Braassemermeer in Holland
Optimist IODAI Trials 2005 - Some Statistics
Final Results of the 2005 Optimist Trials
2005 IODAI Optimist Connaught Championships
HYC is well represented in the 2005 World and European Irish Optimist Teams
HYC's Scott Flanigan wins 2005 Optimist Crosbie at RIYC 23rd & 24th July
2005 Optimist World Championships - Preliminary report
Optimist Worlds 2005 - Final Report
Helen Mary Wilkes Elected IODA President of Honour
Irish Optimist National Championships 2005. 17th - 20th August
Ice on Broadmeadows prevents Racing
Optimist Easter Regatta at Braassemermeer
Optimist Trials 2006 - Final weekend at Skerries
16 boats from Howth YC go to the Optimist Leinsters
HYC Optimist Sailors Clean Sweep at Ulsters
Optimist Team Racing trophy returns to Howth
Optimists - Howth trio taste success at Crosbie Cup
Irish Optimist Championship again won by HYC's Diana Kissane
GrandOptical Champions' Cup at Lake Ledro, Italy
HYC Optimist Sailors in Palma
HYC's Diana Kissane won Optimist Connaught Championships
Snowballs in Braassemermeer, Netherlands
Tara Flood of HYC takes first prize at the End of Season Optimist Regatta in Dun Laoghaire
Half way point at IODAI Optimist Trials 2009
HYC Success at Second Leg of Optimist Trials
Optimist Munster Championships 2009 - 16th & 17th May at Kinsale Yacht Club
Optimist Vice President's Trophy 26th June at HYC goes to Cork
Leinster Optimist Championships 5th & 6th September - A Re-run away Success
HYC Sailors Excel at UK Optimist Nationals - 25th to 30th July
Optimists get Wet and Wild in Galway Bay for the Optimist Connaught championships