2005 IODAI Optimist Connaught Championships
Lough Derg YC in Dromineer hosted the event on 2-3 July
Author: Kevin Darmody Posted on: 5/7/05 Print Version

It may have been summertime, but nobody told the weather how it should have behaved. Winds on Saturday built steadily all morning. The Gold, Silver & Bronze sailors of the main fleet had one race but the less experienced sailors were unable to contend with the steady 27 knots that the PRO, Geoff O'Donohoe, recorded during the race. Cian O'Regan (European team & KYC) won the first race ahead of Jack Costigan (RCYC) second and Luke Finnegan (WHSC) in third place.

For the stronger sailors of the Gold fleet, the conditions were a delight, but consideration must be shown for all competitors so the PRO postponed racing for the day.

Sunday was again blowey. The PRO decided to stand down the Bronze fleet and proceed with racing for the Gold and Silver fleets only. Race 2 was won by Alan Ruigrok (HYC/RSC/SSC) with Jennifer Andreason (RSGYC) second and William Murray (RCYC) third.

The wind appeared to be abating and the PRO invited the Bronze fleet to launch so that they might be allowed compete in race 3. As they approached the starting area after a long beat out, the heavens opened as a squall rushed through the lough. Whilst not quite hailstones, the force of the rain was such that anyone in an open boat was subjected to a harsh lashing from the weather. It took the PRO some time to relay the course following the wind shift and when he the race started, 87 sailors passed the starting line. In the race, it paid dividends to stay left on the beat and it was quite a surprise to see that 60% of the European team were 'down the tubes' in the results for this race. Race 3 was won by Jamie Aplin (RSGYC), Cian O'Regan was second with Ross Vaughan (RNIYC) in third.

The last race was also one where the left paid off. The European team members woke up and whipped the fleet. Diana Kissane (HYC) was a strong winner, Cian O'Regan was second and Matt O'Dowd (RSGYC) third.

Cian O'Regan was the overall victor of the Connaughts. In four races he had three podium results. Ross Vaughan was second and Matt O'Dowd third.

HYC Report on the Champs

Thirteen HYC members took place though five regulars were absent.

The real highlights were that two Howth sailors won two of the four races. Alan Ruigrok had his first championship win and this is sure to be the first of many. In addition, European Team member, Diana Kissane pulled up her socks right at the end to win race 4.

Here are the results of the HYC members who took part:

71157Alan RUIGROK
111153Diana KISSANE
141166Ross DARMODY
171115Suzanne BURKE
18927Katie WHITE
261163Patrick DIX
291155Scott FLANIGAN
421040Conor MURPHY
431015Alexander RUMBALL
561057Oliver KEENAN
67888Meghan DARMODY
721138Aisling BYRNE-RYAN
841077Alison DIX

Tim O'Laoire and Alyson Rumball were absent due to participation in the Danish Nationals before competing in the Optimist World Championships in St.Moritz in Switzerland.

Adam Lawless, Andrew Ryan and Andrew Tyrrell were on holidays or otherwise engaged.

  Associated Articles
HYC Sailors take part in the Dutch Optimist Association squad selection trials
2004 East Coast Optimist Polar Series
Highlights of 2004 Dinghy Racing at HYC
2004 East Coast Optimist Polar Series
Optimist Trials 2005 - Lough Ree - April 1st to 3rd
Optimist Easter Regatta at Braassemermeer in Holland
Optimist IODAI Trials 2005 - Some Statistics
Final Results of the 2005 Optimist Trials
HYC is well represented in the 2005 World and European Irish Optimist Teams
HYC's Scott Flanigan wins 2005 Optimist Crosbie at RIYC 23rd & 24th July
2005 Optimist World Championships - Preliminary report
Optimist Worlds 2005 - Final Report
Helen Mary Wilkes Elected IODA President of Honour
Irish Optimist National Championships 2005. 17th - 20th August
Ice on Broadmeadows prevents Racing
Optimist Easter Regatta at Braassemermeer
Optimist Trials 2006 - Final weekend at Skerries
16 boats from Howth YC go to the Optimist Leinsters
HYC Optimist Sailors Clean Sweep at Ulsters
Optimist Team Racing trophy returns to Howth
Optimists - Howth trio taste success at Crosbie Cup
Irish Optimist Championship again won by HYC's Diana Kissane
GrandOptical Champions' Cup at Lake Ledro, Italy
HYC Optimist Sailors in Palma
HYC's Diana Kissane won Optimist Connaught Championships
Snowballs in Braassemermeer, Netherlands
Tara Flood of HYC takes first prize at the End of Season Optimist Regatta in Dun Laoghaire
Half way point at IODAI Optimist Trials 2009
HYC Success at Second Leg of Optimist Trials
Optimist Munster Championships 2009 - 16th & 17th May at Kinsale Yacht Club
Optimist Vice President's Trophy 26th June at HYC goes to Cork
Success for Howth Junior Sailors at the CYBC Regatta
Leinster Optimist Championships 5th & 6th September - A Re-run away Success
HYC Sailors Excel at UK Optimist Nationals - 25th to 30th July
Optimists get Wet and Wild in Galway Bay for the Optimist Connaught championships