Plenty of Chocolate at HYC's Brassed-off Cup 2011
Author: Des Flood Posted on: 26/4/11 Print Version


Overall winner Sandy Aplin of RStGYC receiving the
Brassed-Off Cup from Commodore Roger Cagney
The Optimist Brassed-off Cup was held on Friday 22nd April in superb sailing conditions with winds ranging from 8 to 22 knots. Twenty six sailors competed in the main fleet under PRO Gillian Guinness who was ably assisted by Richard Kissane. Despite some general recalls and the use of the black flag the 3 scheduled races were completed.

A further 6 less experienced sailors sailed in a Regatta fleet in the harbour. The event was well supported with sailors from the National Yacht Club, RStGYC, Malahide Yacht Club, Sutton Dinghy Club and our own sailors from HYC.

Sandy Aplin (RStGYC) took the trophy home by winning the final and decisive 3rd race. In fact Sandy, Ewan McMahon HYC (2nd) and Aoife Hopkins HYC (3rd) all finished on equal points. With all three counting a 1st and a 3rd after one discard the tie break was based on the result of the final race. Richard Hogan HYC finished 4th despite consistently scoring three second places.

At the discretion of the organisers a line was drawn half way down the list of competitors and a notional Silver fleet was established with Darragh Kelly SDC 1st Silver prize in 14th position, Matthew Cotter SDC was 2nd Silver and DJ McGovern MYC was 3rd Silver.

The Regatta fleet of Lara Jameson, Allanah Carroll, Megan Cahill, Maisie Ryan, Sam Barron, and Lauren Mac Sweeney, sailed a few short races and also did a short tour of the harbour. Although there were a few strong gusts when they first ventured out the group sailed extremely well given that for most it was their first outing of the season. They were also taken out by rib to see the main fleet racing. Well done. You were all fantastic.

Lara Jameson received a prize for the youngest sailor in the event. A small raffle was held and all sailors were presented with an Easter egg to ensure everyone got something from the event. So it was prizes galore as promised. A small barbeque was also held

Commodore Roger Cagney welcomed everyone to HYC and presented the prizes.

A big thank you to all those who helped out especially to Caroline Burke who was the principal organiser, Helen Markey, Eleanor Cahill, Riain Timon and all those on rescue and John Doran who drove the Sea Wytch and was the official photographer for the day.