HYC In the Prizes at the Optimist, 420 and 470 Munster Championships
Author: Niamh Hopkins Posted on: 26/9/12 Print Version

The Optimist, 420 and 470 Munster Championships were run on 22-23 September in Royal Cork Yacht Club.

The three events were run alongside one another. Possibly the first time that this has been done.

The large fleet sailed together for the initial three races just south of Roches Point in ideal conditions with moderate SE winds. Principle Race Officer David O’Brien marshalled the fleet and ran the normal Optimist race course while also sending the 420s and 470s on their own outer trapezoid course.

The Optimist Regatta fleet were coached in the harbour and afterwards three races were run by OOD Grattan Roberts.

On Sunday Principal Race Officer David O’Brien switched the race area to the inner harbour on the eastern bank and racing started with a light to moderate easterly breeze turning more to the south east in the afternoon.

Howth Yacht Club had representatives and prizewinners in each fleet with Robert Dickson (HYC) & Sean Waddilove (SSC) winning the 420 title in fine style leaving the local pairing of Patrick Crosbie & Grattan Roberts disappointed.

In the 58 strong Optimist Junior Gold Fleet Daniel Hopkins carried off the 5th place prize followed by this club mates Jamie McMahon, Max Kavanagh and Shane O’Brien all of whom have made huge progress over the 2012 season. All these sailors have qualified for the Optimist Trials and Max Kavanagh will represent his country next year at the British Nationals as part of the under 12’s squad. Well done Max !

The Optimist regatta fleet was once again dominated by Howths Eve McMahon who even though she was the youngest sailor is showing clear potential for the future.

Howth’s own Diane Kissane competed in the 470 fleet taking 3rd place with Crew Saskia Tidey. The girls are often seen training in Howth with mentor Graeme Grant.

Royal Cork Yacht Club had carnival atmosphere with 150 dinghy sailors in Optimists, 420s and 470s racing together for their respective Championships. A big thank you to all concerned for a fantastic event.