J80 Current & Past HYC Instructors Race
Author: Laura Dillon Posted on: 11/9/11 Print Version

Report & Photos by Laura Dillin

(L-R) Commodore Roger Cagney presents Simon Rattigan,
John White and Kerry O'Leary with their 1st place prizes
Congratulations to John White, Simon Rattigan, Shane Divney, Jamie Carton and Kerrie O'Leary who won the "J80 Current & Past HYC Instructors Inaugural Race" on 9th September.

Congratulations also to Mike Evans and crew who finished 2nd (after an impress match race with Simon Rattigan and crew before the start to the final race) and Simon Knowles and crew who finished 3rd.

Mike Evans receives 2nd place prize
5 teams participated in the "HYC Instructors Inaugural Race" on Friday evening, 9th Sept. Instructors from as far back as 1978 participated in the regatta - next year, we'll hopefully have a team of instructors racing from the 1960s!

Thanks very much to all the teams that participated (and hopefully we'll encourage even more teams next year!):

1.John White (skipper), Simon Rattigan (helm), Shane Divney, Jamie Carton and Kerry O'Leary
2.Mike Evans (skipper & helm), David Sargent, Brian Moran, Eoin Quinlan and Peter Freyne
3.Simon Knowles (skipper & helm), Gillian Guinness, Susan Knowles and Simon Lalor
4.Des Gill (skipper), Des Flood (helm), David Owens and Alistair Hunter
5.Vincent Varley (skipper), Luke Malcolm (helm), Lewis Eickholt and Conor Murphy

Thanks very much to David Cagney and Bre Dalglish for doing race officer and assistant race officer. Thanks also to our commodore Roger Cagney for doing the prize giving. And thanks to Harry Gleeson for setting the course and doing rescue.

The results from the 3 races were:

Team Skipper / HelmRace 1Race 2Race 3Total
John White / Simon Rattigan21141
Mike Evans12582
Simon Knowles33283
Des Gill / Des Flood444124
Vincent Varley / Luke Malcolm553135