Top HYC Performances at Volvo Dun Laoghaire Regatta 2011
Author: Graham Smith Posted on: 10/7/11 Print Version

Dun Laoghaire Regatta - Results >>
Podium finishes in seven classes, five class wins, three seconds and three third places were the outstanding performances by Howth boats at this year's Volvo Dun Laoghaire Regatta which ended on Sunday after four days racing in conditions that ranged from flat calm to full gale.

Winners from Howth were 'Crazy Horse' (Chambers/Reilly) in Class 0, 'Impetuous' (Noonan/Chambers) in Class 2, Bite the Bullet (Colm Bermingham) in Non-Spinnaker 2, 'Sharkbait' (Duncan/Moran) in the SB3s and 'Oona' (Peter Courtney) in the Seventeens.

Runners-up included 'Voyager' (Joe Carton) in the Non-Spinnaker 2, 'Aura' (Ian Malcolm) in the Seventeens and 'Storm' (Pat Kelly) in the J109 Class (which was also the J109 National Championship).

Dave Cullen's 'King One', Roddy Cooper's 'Leila' and Diana Kissane's 'Moon Monkey' finished third overall in Class 2, 17s and Fireball respectively.

The biennial event attracted 420 entries from far and wide (over 30 from Howth) racing over nine separate courses
The top HYC boats .......

Class 0 IRC & ECHO
1stCrazy HorseChambers/Reilly
Class 2 IRC
1stImpetuousFergal Noonan & Robert Chambers
3rdKing OneDavid Cullen
6thDuxAnthony Gore-Grimes
Class 2 ECHO
1stImpetuousFergal Noonan & Robert Chambers
6thDuxAnthony Gore-Grimes
7thKing OneDavid Cullen
Class 3 IRC
9thHollyBasil MacMahon
10thPinocchioNoel Davidson
Class 3 ECHO
10thPinocchioNoel Davidson
13thHollyBasil Mac Mahon
Non Spinnaker 2 IRC
1stBite the BulletColm Bermingham
2ndVoyagerJoe Carton
4thJokers WildGordon Knaggs
Non Spinnaker 2 ECHO
1stBite the BulletColm Bermingham
3rdVoyagerJoe Carton
5thJokers WildGordon Knaggs
Howth 17
1stOonaPeter Courtney
2ndAuraIan Malcolm
3rdLeilaRoddy Cooper
Laser SB3
1stSharkbaitBen Duncan & Brian Moran
5thShockwaveEoin Quinlan
7thTBADavid Quinn & Garrett May
2ndMoon MonkeyDiana Kissane
8thKerfuffleJonathan Craig