RS Feva National and Leinster Championships 2011
Author: Andy Johnston Posted on: 19/8/11 Print Version

The event took place on 12th - 14th August, consisted of 9 races and included the Leinsters which were rerun following a blowout in HYC in May. In a fleet of 31, HYC was represented by 3 crews. Claude Mollard & Jenny Harris, Nicky Delamer & Conor Howard and David Johnston & Louise Flynn-Byrne.

Both Leinsters and Nationals were won by David Whittaker & Jill McGinley from RCYC who won 5 of the 9 races.
David Johnston and Louise Louise Flynn Byrne took 3rd place in the Leinsters and 4th Overall in Nationals with 2 race wins from 9 races. This was a very good result for Howth's David & Louise against older and more experienced sailors such as David Whittaker (1st), Mark Cudmore (2nd) and Sam McGinley (3rd). David & Louise kept Seafra Guilfoyle (twice Optimist National Champion) and his crew back in 5th place.

A strong last days performance meant Nicky Delamer & Conor Howard took the U14 age class prize.

Gold Fleet:
1st David Whitaker, Jil McGinley (RCYC)10pts
2nd Marc Cudmore, Sarah Cudmore (RCYC)24pts
3rd Sam McGinley, Richard McGinley (RCYC)27pts
4th David Johnston, Louise Flynn Byrne (Howth YC)31pts
5th Seafra Guilfoyle, Philip Brownlow (RCYC)33pts

Silver Fleet:
1st Sean O’Brien, Louise Shanahan (RCYC)
2nd Ciara Byrne, Megan Hayes (Greystones SC)
3rd Blaithnaid O’Connell, Rosanna Cassidy (RSTGYC)

First Girl Helm:Lisa Smith and Kate Hayes (Greystones SC)
U13 Winner:Jamie Tingle, Criofan Guilfoyle (RCYC)
U14 Winner:Nicky Delamer, Conor Howard (Howth YC)
U15 Winner:Dermot Lyden, Brian Stokes (RCYC/BSC)

Nationals Results >>         Leinsters Results >>
(The Nationals link points to results titled Leinsters on the RCYC site)