Laser Racing at HYC on New Year's Day
Author: David Quinn Posted on: 2/1/10 Print Version

Given the extreme cold weather and almost impassable roads, it was great to see 12 hardy laser sailors take to the water for the 2010 New Year's Day race. Special thanks must go to Liam Dinneen, one of our regular race officers, but in particular to Ric Morris and Neil Murphy who stepped in at short notice to help with rescue, mark laying and committee boat duties. Thanks lads!

Even though boat covers were completely covered in ice, and the dinghy pen was more like a skating rink than a boat park, bright sunshine and 14kt winds meant conditions for racing were perfect, if a little cold!

A very strong Ebb tide thankfully meant all sailors were behind the line at the start, as a general recall would have been too much for committee boat or sailor's hands and feet to bare.

Darrach Dinneen of Skerries lead at the first weather mark but lost his lead on the first run. The race was very close for all 3 laps with many place changes. After 3 rounds of the Windward - Leeward course David Quinn came out as winner, with Colm Cunningham second and Davie Carr third. In the Radial Fleet, Conor Murphy took the gun from Katie Malcolm.