Puppeteers National Championship
Author: Billy Morgan Posted on: 24/7/07 Print Version

Puppeteers National Championship 20 - 22 July 2007
Sponsored by H B Dennis Motors / CitroŽn

Ibis - 1st Scratch - Garrett May and Team
with Neil Plunkett (red jacket), from Sponsor H B Dennis Motors / Citroen
The Puppeteers National Championship concluded with a full schedule of races completed despite the variable weather conditions. The overall winner was IBIS sailed by Garrett May who counted four bullets in the six-race series.

The Friday evening race was "round the cans" on the HYC course card. The race started in a steady F3 easterly but heavy rain killed the wind and the race was shortened at West mark. The winner was Alan Pearson's "Trick 'r Treat" and only seven boats finished within the time limit.

Saturday's conditions were ideal for racing with a steady F3-4 from the NE. Race 1 on a windward/leeward course was won by IBIS with Dave Clarke's Harlequin in second and Johnny Swan's Chancer coming in third.The second race featured a triangle after a W/L loop and again IBIS took the gun followed by Trick 'r Treat and Rob Stanley's Mojo. Race 3 again featured IBIS first across followed by Mojo and Billy Morgan and John Murray in Nefertari.

A flat calm at race time on Sunday prompted race officer Harry Gallagher to postpone and keep the fleet ashore but thankfully a nice south-easterly sea breeze developed and racing got under way shortly after noon. Cyprian Feeley's Cloud 9 (red) featured prominently in both races with a second in Race 1 behind IBIS and followed by Michael Guinan in Mayfly. Cyprian led Race 2 until the final leeward mark where a poor mark rounding let Johnny Swan's Chancer get by to take the gun followed by IBIS with Cloud 9 in third. Cyp had the consolation of taking the Handicap trophy.

The top 3 in each category were ...
1IbisG May
2HarlequinD Clarke
3ChancerJ Swan
1Cloud 9C Feeley
3ChancerJ Swan