Howth Yacht Club Dinghy Regatta - 17th July
Author: Kevin Darmody Posted on: 18/7/05 Print Version

It wasn't possible to ask for a better sailing day than we had on Sunday 17 July. The sun shone and the wind blew just right. There was a great buzz in the HYC dinghy park as boats arrived from near and far. Entries, totaling 58, equaled those of last year.

The HYC Committee boat, the 'Free Enterprise' driven by Riain Timon, positioned itself between Ireland's Eye and Portmarnock to give the fairest sailing conditions for all.

Optimist Main
Southside raiders took first and third in the Optimists. Jamie Aplin (RSGYC) took first in both races and demonstrated why this under 12 sailor is tipped for the future. Andrew Tyrrell (HYC) was second in both races and kept the pressure on the leader at all times. Former Optimist European team member, Sally-Ann Tingle (RSGYC) was third. In this largest fleet of the regatta, mention should be made of a fine performance by Oliver Keenan (HYC) in fourth place.
In the Radials, ISA Youth Academy sailor, Allister Kissane (HYC) dominated the fleet winning both races. It was great to see the re-appearance of John Pearson (HYC) who was a strong second, with Ross Condy third. The 4.7 fleet was larger and both races won by Patrick Dix (HYC). Clare Murphy (MYC/HYC) was second and Jodie-Jane Tingle (RSGYC) swapped her Mirror for a 4.7 to come in third. Nobody entered the Laser Standard.

Who said the Mirrors were gone? The entry of nine was encouraging and the winning boat was a new GRP Mirror lent by Jodie-Jane Tingle to Ben Hickey(HYC) and David White(HYC) on the morning of the regatta. It is a testament to the sailing skills of Ben & David that they could just hop into a strange boat and win the regatta. Gordon Stirling (CYBC) was second and Noel Fitzpatrick (CYBC/SDC) third.

The Malcolms dominated with a first and a third. Katie Malcolm was the winner with Lauren McSweeney second and Luke Malcolm third.

The first fleet off was a mixed fleet consisting of a 420 (Jamie Carton & Gordon Murphy) and a 29er (Ryan & Megan Scott) racing on PYS handicap. The prize went to Jamie & Gordon as the 29er had to retire prior to race 2 following jellyfish stings (not funny!).

Optimist Junior
Paul Howard ran a very enjoyable Junior Optimist fleet in the vicinity of the harbour and completed two races before the wind increased. Tara Flood (HYC) demonstrated her talents and rest assured that Tara's name will regularly appear in racing results in the coming years. Guy Aplin (RSGYC) came in second and Jack Macken (HYC) in third.

ClassesOptimist Main & Junior, Laser 4.7, Radial, Standard, Mirror, Pico, 420/29er
PRONeil Murphy
Frank Hughes
Presentation of Prizes & Trophies after Racing
ChairmanEddie Ferris, HYC Junior Organiser